Walker Art Center

63° FPartly CloudyVia weather.com

MNTV 2009

With a record-setting 80-plus submissions, MNTV 2009 showcases the finest films and videos produced in Minnesota over the past two years. Curated by Walker associate film curator Dean Otto, Lu Lippold from IFP Minnesota Center for Media Arts, and local curator Marlina Gonzalez, MNTV is broadcast on Twin Cities Public Television and other Minnesota public television stations, and streams on Google Video. Starting next spring, you can catch these independent productions at the Walker’s Best Buy Film/Video Bay.

Program One

Channel 2: Sunday, December 13, 10 pm
Channel 17: Sunday, December 20, 8 pm
Works by these emerging filmmakers are marked by striking cinematography. Aaron Nelson, Tone (2009, 7 minutes); Stephen Gurewitz, Winter Lilacs (2009, 6 minutes); Ann Prim, Deer Hill Road (2009, 14 minutes); Mark Ehling, How to Live Better (2009, 18 minutes); Jila Nikpay, In Waiting (2008, 7 minutes).

Program Two

Channel 2: Sunday, December 20, 10 pm
Channel 17: Sunday, December 27, 8 pm
Couples try to make a connection in these powerful shorts. Chris Newberry, A Song without a Name (2008, 16 minutes); Scott Jenson, Frumpy Franny (2009, 8 minutes); Kevin Russell and Joe Clark, A Sudden Hankering (2008, 12 minutes); Britni West, Oldmeal (2008, 10 minutes), Blue Like Sun, (2007, 6 minutes).

Program Three

Channel 2: Sunday, December 27, 10 pm
Channel 17, Sunday, January 3, 8 pm
A spicy mix of experimental and documentary films is peppered with delightful animations. Brian Barber, Black-Eyed Snakes “Rise Up” (2009, 3 minutes); Jesse Roesler, Street Cellist: David McGee (2008, 3 minutes); Paul Bernhardt, Paris Journal (2009, 4 minutes); Amanda Becker, Pete’s Palace (2009, 7 minutes); Tim Fort, Edifice Wrecks (2008, 3 minutes); John Akre, I Feel Tight (2009, 4 minutes); Kerry Johnson, First Sight (2008, 4 minutes); Sarah Jean Kruchowski, Pumpkin (2008, 3 minutes); Kari Jo Skogquist, Freatures (2009, 1 minute); Jim Grafsgaard and P.J. Tracy, Anima (2007, 4 minutes); William Scott Rees and JoEllen Martinson, Tape Eleven (2007, 5 minutes); Mahi Palanisami, The Silent Regime Within (2008, 4 minutes); Lewis Weinberg, Future Antiquity: The Tears of Saddam Hussein (2008, 5 minutes).


MNTV is made possible by generous support from the Jerome Foundation.