Walker Art Center

63° FMostly CloudyVia weather.com

Chris Yon; Kaleena Miller

Part of Momentum: New Dance Works 2011

Chris Yon

Echo Park Dream Ballet Essay: Les Sylphides without Margot Fonteyn v. The Pips without Gladys Knight
Exploring the world of backup dancers without their leading stars, Chris Yon sets his piece to an original mash-up soundscape of classical and R&B music. The six dancers traverse a kinetically quotable movement landscape based on variations of familiar “step-touch” routines and the structures of the corps de ballets. Yon performs alongside Maggie Bergeron, Angharad Davies, Taryn Griggs, Justin Jones, and Megan Mayer.

Kaleena Miller

Inspired by her father’s journey into the depths of Alzheimer’s, Kaleena Miller explores the aural and visual interpretation of the disease as a percussive dance piece set to live music. Utilizing a more modern, urban sensibility on the traditional views of tap dance, her variance of sonic and visual aesthetics creates a dense and dark percussive sound that leaves the audience affected, yet hopeful.


Momentum: New Dance Works 2011 is made possible by generous support from the Jerome Foundation.