Walker Art Center

49° FCloudyVia weather.com

Press Releases Walker Art Center Presents Choreographers’ Evening Curated by Chris Yon and Taryn Griggs

“Sometimes, contemporary dance growls and barks at you. Other times, it wags its tail, jumps up in your lap, licks your face, and pees on you a little bit.” —Twin Cities Daily Planet

Minneapolis, September 23, 2013—For more than 40 years, Choreographers’ Evening has served as the major showcase for the Twin Cities’ vital independent dance community. This fast-paced super-sampler of local talent features 10 companies, all with just 7 minutes to unveil their latest work. Tweet your buds, join the party, and help us celebrate the remarkably diverse range of Minnesota dance. Brooklyn transplants (and husband and wife) Chris Yon and Taryn Griggs, known for their witty and precise choreography, team-curate this year’s installment.

The 2013 installment of Choreographers’ Evening features Jes Nelson with a tap piece featuring 7 young dancers and a rhythmic quartet by Momentum commission recipient Kaleena Miller. Laurie Van Wieren performs a solo work and Juan Aldape presents a solo movement theater piece with monologue. Otto Ramstad dances an improvised solo; Morgan Thorson presents solo choreography of new material; and Theresa Madaus performs a new solo (sans Mad King Thomas) about cowboys and death. Choreographers’ Evening also includes Angharad Davies ‘ contemporary dance work featuring 12 performers, a modern jazz dance trio work by Joanne Spencer , and Yeniel “Chini” Domeneck Perez dancing a solo rumba. Yon and Griggs imagine the performance line up as a selection of songs for a mixed tape, carefully chosen for someone special. They are dedicating this year’s Choreographers’ Evening to Nicky Paraiso, performer and La MaMa Moves! curator in NYC, who in their words “ has an infectious admiration for performers. He puts together programs that are wildly eclectic, thought provoking and moving. We are inspired by his impresario showmanship and ability to tug at your heart strings.”

Choreographers’ Evening 2013

Featured Choreographers:
Jes Nelson
Laurie Van Wieren
Juan Aldape
Kaleena Miller
Otto Ramstad
Angharad Davies
Morgan Thorson
Theresa Madaus
Joanne Spencer
Yeniel “Chini” Domeneck Perez

Tickets to Choreographers’ Evening are $22 ($18 Walker members) and are available at walkerart.org/tickets or by calling 612.375.7600
Make a Night of It!

Balcony Bar
Meet the artists, talk about the show, and enjoy drinks on the upper balcony of the elegant William and Nadine McGuire Theater. Open one hour prior to and after most performances. For details, visit walkerart.org.

The Walker Art Center’s Dance Season is sponsored by Pine River Capital Management LP. The Walker Art Center’s performing arts programs are made possible by generous support from the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation through the Doris Duke Performing Arts Fund, the William and Nadine McGuire Commissioning Fund, the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, and the National Endowment for the Arts.

Producers’ Council
Performing Arts programs and commissions at the Walker are generously supported by members of the Producers’ Council: Russell Cowles; Sage Cowles; Nor Hall and Roger Hale; King’s Fountain/Barbara Watson Pillsbury and Henry Pillsbury; Emily Maltz; Dr. William W. and Nadine M. McGuire; Leni and David Moore, Jr.; Mike and Elizabeth Sweeney; and Frances and Frank Wilkinson.

Chris Yon and Taryn Griggs

Photo: Gene Pittman, ©Walker Art Center