Walker Art Center

68° FCloudyVia weather.com

Walker Cunningham Events

Part of Merce Cunningham: Common Time Performances, Merce Cunningham: Common Time

The gallery comes alive with movement and sound as dancers from the final Merce Cunningham Dance Company (MCDC)­­—Dylan Crossman, Silas Riener, Jamie Scott, Melissa Toogood—perform Events, Cunningham’s unique choreographic form made for performances in unconventional spaces. Arranged and staged by former MCDC dancer Andrea Weber, these 30-minute sequences drawn from four decades of Cunningham’s work offer a rare chance to experience firsthand his signature explorations of space, time, and movement. Twin Cities musicians will perform their own compositions to accompany each program, based on John Cage’s improvisational parameters for Cunningham Events. Capacity is limited and available on a first-come, first-served basis.

Merce Cunningham’s choreography is performed courtesy the Merce Cunningham Trust.

Performance Schedule

  • February 8–9
    Wednesday–Thursday, 5:30 and 8 pm

  • March 30–April 2
    Thursday, 5:30 and 8 pm
    Friday–Sunday, 1:30 and 4 pm

  • April 6–9
    Thursday, 5:30 and 8 pm
    Friday–Sunday, 1:30 and 4 pm

Lineup of Musicians

  • Wednesday, February 8: Nick Gaudette/Mankwe Ndosi

  • Thursday, February 9: Michelle Kinney/Anthony Cox/Andrew Broder

  • Thursday, March 30: John Keston/Graham O’Brien

  • Friday, March 31: Douglas Ewart/Laura Harada

  • Saturday, April 1: Michelle Kinney/Cole Pulice/Eric Jensen

  • Sunday, April 2: Joe Strachan/Noah Ophoven-Baldwin

  • Thursday, April 6: Toby Ramaswamy/Adam Zahller

  • Friday, April 7: Tara Loeper/Patrick Marschke

  • Saturday, April 8: Davu Seru/Jeremy Ylvisaker

  • Sunday, April 9: Cody McKinney/Leah Ottman

Funding

The Walker Art Center’s Music Season is sponsored by